Sunday Special: The Beginning

I promised to share how our family’s Sunday Specials started so here it is πŸ™‚


At about mid-last year, I was craving for hakaw or shrimp dumplings but I knew they were pretty expensive and the best hakaw for me was nowhere near our area. So, I decided to cook some to satisfy my cravings πŸ™‚ please don’t judge my finished product hahaha! They are FAR from looking perfect but it tasted good πŸ˜› lol

I didn’t have wheat starch and tapioca starch so I used flour instead for the wrapper :\ that resulted to the dumpling’s non-translucent finish.

Sadly for me, it doesn’t look as nice as the ones sold in restaurants. I discovered that night why hakaw is an expensive dish. It takes skill to make them look the way they do haha πŸ™‚

My family enjoyed our dinner that Sunday and my dad suggested that we take turns in cooking each week. We agreed to my dad’s suggestion thus Sunday Special was born. Haha! (There are times though that we don’t get to cook weekly because of time constraints.)

Leave a Reply

