Road Trip: Bicol – Caramoan

Yay, I’m finally done sorting through the photos and drafting some of my articles! Haha! Sadly it took me longer than expected to publish my first post. I didn’t feel well for the past few days so I wasn’t able to attend to my blog right after work. Anyway, here is part one of our family’s 5-day vacation ๐Ÿ™‚ ..and this is quite a lengthy one ๐Ÿ˜€

June 7 was an exciting day for me! Aside from the fact that it was a Friday, I was really looking forward to our 9-hr road trip to Bicol. Seating for 9 hours straight in a car may not be really comfortable but our family enjoys long drives and going around the country in our car. So as soon as the end of work hours hit, I rushed home as we left at 7:30pm to arrive our first destination in Bicol before 5am so as to catch the departure of the first boat.

And our first destination was Caramoan! If you’re a fan of the reality series Survivor, this place would be familiar to you. Survivor US was the last one to use the islands. To get there, we left our vehicle in Sabang Port where boats will take you to Guijalo Port. Each boat can accommodate about 50 persons and a ride will cost Php 120/person. It takes about an hour and 45 mins. to reach Guijalo Port.

The sun was starting to rise.

The sun was starting to rise.

bicol_102

Mt. Mayon could be seen from our boat.

Mt. Mayon could be seen from our boat.

bicolteaser_1bicol_104 bicol_105 bicol_106

bicol_107

Guijalo Port

Off to Tugawe Cove!

Off to Tugawe Cove!

bicolteaser_2bicol_109From Guijalo Port, we waited for Tugawe Cove’s boat shuttle to take us to their place. Tugawe Cove Resortย is one of the many resorts in Caramoan but I think this is one of the best ones ๐Ÿ™‚ ย But unfortunately, the shuttle got very delayed which kind of irritated us since we took the 5 o’clock boat from Sabang Port to reach their resort the earliest possible time. They however made up for it by giving us free lunch ๐Ÿ™‚ Their servings were BIG!! Haha! Or it might have been big for us since our family’s on some sort of diet LOL ๐Ÿ˜›

bicol_119

Clockwise: Cream of…err, um I forgot — soup, tuna steak, rice, sauteed bitter-melon and fried chicken

Anyway, I like the way they constructed the resort. They didn’t cut down majority of the trees in their area for them to put up the cabanas/cabins. In fact, when their boat shuttle slowed down when we were nearing the resort, I was sort of surprised that all I saw were trees and a few beach beds! I wondered where the resort was haha! And when we got down from the boat, I could even hear birds chirping! I instantly loved this place hahaha ๐Ÿ™‚

The beach front

The beach front

Reception area

Reception area

A refreshing glass of melon juice for the guests. Yum!

A refreshing glass of melon juice for the guests. Yum!

The cottages by the lagoon.

The cabanas by the lagoon.

The lagoon.

The lagoon.

Our room :D

Our room ๐Ÿ˜€

bicol_115 bicol_116 bicol_117

My parents with the infinity pool and view of the islands as their backdrop :P

My parents with the infinity pool and view of the islands as their backdrop ๐Ÿ˜›

After our extremely filling lunch, we headed out to go island-hopping! We went to the islands Survivor used in their shows.

bicol_120

bicol_121

In Lahus island

Matukad island. Matukad in Bicol means steep :)

Matukad island.
Matukad in Bicol means steep ๐Ÿ™‚

My brother rock-climbing to see the enchanted lagoon where a gigantic milkfish lives.

My brother rock-climbing to see the enchanted lagoon where a gigantic milkfish lives.

Click this photo and you'll see the fish near the tip of the rock in the lower half of this photo hehe :)

Click this photo and you’ll see the fish near the tip of the rock in the lower half of this photo hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

This was how high we were :)) it was kinda scary

This was how high we were :)) it was kinda scary

bicol_126 bicol_127 bicol_128

Tinago island. Tinago means hidden.

Tinago island.
Tinago means hidden.

bicol_130 bicol_131 bicol_132

My dad tried fishing :)

My dad tried fishing ๐Ÿ™‚

bicol_134

Pitogo island.

Pitogo island.

After going to the different islands, we wanted to do some snorkeling. However, when my dad jumped into the water he immediately saw a sea snake which obviously scared all of us! Hahahaha! So we just went back to the resort and snorkeled in the are where we saw anemones, small fishes and LOTS of starfish.

bicol_143 bicol_142 bicol_144 bicol_145

Then we decided to have a swim in their infinity pool. As we were climbing up to the pool, it started raining and we got really cold. Good thing the pool’s water was warm — thanks to the Jacuzzis! Haha!ย We then ate kinunot and fried milkfishย for early dinner. We actually bought them in Guijalo Port and was suppose to eat them during our island hopping but because of the delay we got free lunch. Of course, we didn’t want to waste food so we ate them before washing up and going to the restaurant. Kinunot is shredded stingray or shark meat cooked in coconut milk withย malunggay leaves.

However, after we were all done taking a shower, the four of us felt so exhausted from our 9-hr road trip (my dad had no sleep at all!) and all the island hopping and swimming… and so by 8pm (a VERY early bedtime for me LOL), we were all sleeping soundly haha ๐Ÿ™‚

Come 6 o’clock the next morning, I felt very refreshed ๐Ÿ™‚ and I soon headed out to the restaurant to take photos of the resort’s surroundings.

bicol_136

You may go to the lighthouse. Just ask your personal butler to take you there :)

You may go to the lighthouse. Just ask your personal butler to take you there ๐Ÿ™‚

bicol_138 bicol_139

It went to our cabana! Haha

It went to our cabana! Haha

By 10am, it was time to say goodbye to this place. Tugawe Cove is a recommendable resort. Their staff are friendly and very helpful (each cabana had their own butlers); the amenities are good. The view is breathtaking! I really wouldn’t mind going back to thisย peaceful place ๐Ÿ™‚

bicol_146 bicol_147 bicol_149

Jeepney. A commuter's ride.

Jeepney. A commuter’s ride.

Tricycle. Another commuter's ride but this one is for short distances only :)

Tricycle. Another commuter’s ride but this one is for short distances only ๐Ÿ™‚

bicol_148 bicol_152

6 thoughts on “Road Trip: Bicol – Caramoan

  1. HI Dessa! Thank you for sharing your wonderful road trip to Caramoan. How safe was it to leave a car at the Sabang Port? My friend and I are thinking about doing a road trip too to Caramoan and Naga, but they are a bit doubtful about leaving their cars at the Sabang Port for days. We’d appreciate it a lot if you can give more information on this. Thanks in advance

    • Hi Polly! I’m very sorry for this late response. I have been unable to manage my blog for due to lack of time.

      Anyway, it is very safe. A local had a small parking area in her house (which is very near the docking area) and that is where we left our car ๐Ÿ™‚ hope I was still able to help

  2. Pingback: Summer 2014 | Food, travel and other hobbies

  3. Hi Dessa! Really enjoyed your post regarding your trip to Caramoan, Me and my friends are planning to go there by next month. I was wondering why do you still need to go there via Sabang Port. Is Caramoan not reachable by land directly? I’ve been browsing through google map and as per checking there’s a road that connects from Lagonoy – Caramoan.

    • Hi Adnan!
      Sorry for replying just now. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Caramoan! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not sure about that road. We traveled last June 2013, maybe there have been improvements since that time. The second time we went to Caramoan was last year but we went there via Catanduanes.

Leave a Reply

